National & Kapodistrian University of Athens

The University of Athens, first opened its doors on May 3rd, of 1837. In 1932 was officially named National Kapodistrian University of Athens, in honor of Ioannis Kapodistrias, the first Governor of Greece, after the liberation of the nation.

In the dawn of the 20th century, the University of Athens was the only university in Greece. Today, the University provides Greek society with qualified scientists in the scientific fileds of medicine, social sciences, law and economics, philosophy, education and theology.

Like all universities in Greece, according to Law. 1268-1282, National Kapodistrian University of Athens shall:

  • provide knowledge through research and teaching and cultivate the arts
  • contribute to the formation of responsible people with scientific social, cultural and political consciousness and provide the necessary tools to ensure their perfect training for their academic and professional careers 
  • to help address the social, cultural and developmental needs of the country. 

As part of its mission, the University of Athens also contributes to addressing the need for continuing education of the people.

go to site